slide1.jpg
slide2.jpg
slide3.jpg
slide4.jpg
slide5.jpg
slide6.jpg
 
One hundred years from now it will not matter what kind of car I drove, what kind of house I lived in, how much money I had in my bank account, nor what my clothes looked like. But the world may be a little better because I was important in the life of a child.
- Forest E. Witcraft

Authors hold book signing for child advocacy center Featured

The writing team of Dr. William Bass and Jon Jefferson who co-penned the fictional work Carved in Bone: A Body Farm Novel (William Morrow, 2006) under the pseudonym of Jefferson Bass, will hold a book signing event on May 25, 2006 to support the Safe Harbor Child Advocacy Center of Tennessee’s Fourth Judicial District.  The event will take place from 5:00pm-9:00pm in the third floor courtroom of the Sevier County Courthouse Annex.  “We are very grateful to Dr. Bass and Mr. Jefferson for their support of Safe Harbor Child Advocacy Center”, states Barry Fain, president of Safe Harbor’s board of directors.

     Dr. Bass is an expert in forensic anthropology who founded the University of Tennessee’s Anthropology Research Facility in 1980. His work has aided the law enforcement community in many cases. He is the author of more than 200 scientific publications, including a nonfiction account of the Body Farm, Death’s Acre: Inside the Legendary Forensic Lab the Body Farm Where the Dead Do Tell Tales (Putnam, 2003). Dr. Bass is also a dedicated teacher, who has been named “National Professor of the Year” by the Council for Advancement and Support of Education.  He and the Body Farm have been featured on “60 Minutes II,” “48 Hours,” and many other news programs.

     Jon Jefferson is a veteran journalist, science writer, and documentary filmmaker. He has been published in the New York Times, Newsweek, USA Today and Popular Science. He is the co-author of Death’s Acre, and the producer of two successful National Geographic documentaries about the Body Farm.

     Fans of Dr. Bass and Mr. Jefferson are encouraged to attend this event and support Safe Harbor Child Advocacy Center and the child-victims of sexual abuse, severe physical abuse and severe neglect that the organization serves.  Interested persons may bring their personal copies of the authors’ books to be signed.  If you have not already purchased a copy of either book, Books-A-Million will be present with copies of each for sale for this event with portions of the book proceeds to benefit Safe Harbor.  Admission to the event is a $20.00 donation to Safe Harbor Child Advocacy Center.  Senior citizens and students receive a $5.00 discount.

     “We hope to see a huge contingent of fans turn out to meet the authors on May 25th, while also supporting a worthy cause for child-victims of sexual abuse, physical abuse and neglect”, says Donna Koester, executive director of the Safe Harbor Child Advocacy Center.

     Funds raised from the event will be used to underwrite operational costs of the Safe Harbor Child Advocacy Center, a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization created and designed to aid in cases of sexual abuse, severe physical abuse and severe neglect of child-victims in Tennessee’s Fourth Judicial District (Cocke, Grainger, Jefferson and Sevier counties).  Safe Harbor will provide a central point to assist prosecutors, law enforcement and Child Protective Services to coordinate their investigative efforts and will also help provide post-trauma counseling for child-victims and non-offending family members.

     To learn more about the Safe Harbor Child Advocacy Center, visit their website at www.SafeHarborCAC.com, call their executive director, Donna Koester, at (865) 453-2638 or e-mail her at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .

Add comment